Planning Commission

The Planning Commission consists of citizen volunteers appointed by the City Council to make decisions or advise the Council on land use and property development issues. The Commission assures that new development is consistent with our Zoning Ordinance, Subdivision Ordinance, long-range General Plan and Local Coastal Plan, State laws and other public policies that advance the interests of our community.

Planning Commission meetings are held at 7 pm every 2nd and 4th Tuesday of each month, remotely via Zoom.

View agendas and minutes here


David Gorn, Chair

Rick Hernandez, Vice Chair

Margaret Gossett

Steve Ruddock 

Hazel Joanes

To communicate with members of the Planning Commission, please use the staff contact information to the right.

  1. Jill Ekas

    Community Development Director

  2. Bridget Jett

    Consultant - Planning Analyst